Francesca D'Asdia

Change your cover photo
dasdia
Change your cover photo
offlineJoined September 20, 2016E-commerce, Video gamesGermany
EN•FR•ES > IT Translator | Localization Specialist | Language Teacher | Outsourcer | Web | Social Media | Tester | Proofreader | Available to discuss projects in German and Spanish, as well.
This user account status is Approved

This user has not added any information to their profile yet.

A few things about me

Germany
Editing and Proofreading, Localization Testing, Post-Editing, Translation, Video Game Localization
From 1 to 5 years of experience
English, French
Italian
Email

Find me on Proz

Find me on Xing

Find me on TM-Town

""Francesca""

Is this someone you've been looking for?

My rates

0.09 USD per source word
0.09 USD per source word
From 15 to 25 USD

Every project is different and I'm afraid there is no such thing as a "one-fits-all" translation rate. There are literally dozens of factors that affect translation rates: the complexity of your source text, file format (hand-written and non-editable electronic documents tend to be much more expensive), how fast you want it back, your budget expectations, etc. Please, contact me and I'll be happy to give you an exact quote.

My fields of expertise and areas of interest

E-commerce, Video games
Veterinary and/or zoology

My education

Maîtrise LEA
Bachelor of Interpreting and Translation
Traduction Spécialisée EN<>FR<>IT
English<>Italian<>French
2005
2003
Self taught
German

My biography and experience

I'm a native Italian professional translator specializing in gaming, logistics, fashion, textiles and animal care. I was born and bred in Italy but I've lived, studied and worked in six countries for the past fifteen years. Today I'm fluent in French, English and Spanish and I'm working on achieving a full professional proficiency in German. I aim at including DE>IT among my language pairs some day. After achieving a BA degree in Interpreting and Communication in Milan, I moved to Paris and studied Technical Translation at La Sorbonne University where I graduated with honours. I also spent an academic year in Ireland as part of the Erasmus Program, studying international business with languages and working part-time as a trilingual CSR for a medical device producer. After my studies, I was headhunted and hired by an interior design company in London looking for someone with my language skills for an export coordinator role supporting international customers and agents worldwide. I received a technical training in textile production and had the chance to visit key suppliers abroad, see their factories and learn a lot about fabric production and supply-chain operations. Thanks to this initial training I had a six year career in the textile industry, working for prestigious brands like Burberry and Designers Guild as Purchaser, Production Manager and Designer Assistant. I then decided to have a career break and do some volunteer work to get out of my comfort zone. So I moved to Colombia in South America where I taught languages and helped disadvanged kids with poor education. Today I'm a fully qualified CELTA teacher and I teach Italian, as well. After spending two years freelancing and travelling across South America I became fluent in Spanish and learnt to recognise regional accents and adapt my communication accondingly. I still speak Spanish on a regular basis as I'm a committed animal activist and member of a rescue association saving dogs from Spanish killing stations. I'm the main contact for our local Spanish partner which involves taking care of travel paperwork and health examinations, arranging home checks, runring fundraising events and promoting adoption campaigns on several social media. Today I live in Germany with my family and apart from being a freelance translator I work as a part-time in-house translator for a gaming company. I'm always up for new challenges and I like learning as much as I can from every experience and situation.